## SEFAKO MAKGATHO UNIVERSITY RESEARCH ETHICS COMMITTEE -TERMS OF REFERENCE

1. Composition	
<b>CHAIRPERSON</b>	Prof GA Ogunbanjo
Members	
Representatives :	Animal Ethicist Natural Scientist Dentist Pharmacologist Research Methodologist Clinical Psychologist Clinician Legal Bio-Ethicists Laypersons (2) School of Oral Health Sciences School of Health Care Sciences School of Medicine School of Pathology & Pre-Clinical Sciences

## 2. Functions and Duties

- To stimulate, promote and co-ordinate all research undertaken at the Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU)
- To encourage contact and co-operation as far as research is concerned
- Consider and make recommendations regarding applications for new projects
- To encourage the publication of research results
- To scrutinize the ethical consequences of all research projects

## 3. Term of Office

3 years

4.	Quorum	
----	--------	--

Fifty percent of members plus one member shall constitute a quorum (Excluding *ex officio* members)

5.	Meetings		
-			

9 per year